With Uber for Business, you may see 3 kinds of charges on your credit card:
Pending or voided charge
Uber for Business issues a $200 authorization hold (amount may vary per country) when you first add a payment method to your business profile. This amount is never charged to your account, but may show as pending on your bank statement.
Charge near the 1st of the month
Uber for Business charges a technology and platform service fee (10% of each ride taken on your company’s account) at the beginning of each month.
The service fee provides users access to features like:
- Custom expense codes
- Automated employee importing and statement exporting
- Monthly billing
- Customizable trip reports
- Trip flagging
Charge near the 8th of the month
If you’re on monthly billing, your monthly statement will be automatically charged to your card on the 8th of each month.
If the unrecognized charge doesn’t look like any of the ones above, it could be:
- A tip. If the charge is a round number (such as $1, $2, or $4), an employee might have tipped their driver. You can see which employees added a tip in the trip report.
- A cancellation fee. The $5 cancellation fee (amount may vary by location) pays drivers for the time and effort they spend getting to a pickup location. Usually, you can tell a ride was canceled if the dropoff time on the report CSV is blank and the trip distance and duration is 0.
On Uber Health, the ride status column on the CSV will indicate that the ride was canceled.
- An employee account mixup (employee travel programs only). An employee could have accidentally charged a personal ride to the company account. To prevent account mixups, double check your travel program rules and make sure that employees are taking trips using their business profile.
- First six and last four digits of the credit card used
- Expiration date of the card
- Date of each charge in question
- Charge amount and currency
- Screenshot of the details for each charge